For Fans Of: Godspeed You! Black Emperor / Slint / Swans

Talons are an instrumental band, who formed in the city of Hereford in 2008. They signed to Big Scary Monsters in 2009, releasing their debut single, “The Pearl” on 7” vinyl alongside a split single with And So I Watch You From Afar, featuring the song “Bethlehem”. The singles “Anthropods” and “Trevelyan” followed in 2010, which were subsequently featured on the anthology release “Commemorations”.

The band recorded their debut album, “Hollow Realm” in the summer of 2010, with Tom Woodhead (¡Forward Russia!) at the helm as producer. It was released in November 2010 on CD by Big Scary Monsters and 12″ vinyl by Topshelf Records. An extended CD edition of the album was released by Xtal Records in Japan.

Four years later, Talons returned with “New Topographics”. The album was recorded in July 2013 with long-time collaborator Tom Woodhead at Greenmount Studios, Leeds. “New Topographics” reflected a change in mood and tempo from previous material, incorporating stronger neo-classical influences as well as bringing a more rhythmic and expansive sound.

In 2016 Talons began work on their third album, “We All Know” back in Hereford, building upon the tonal and rhythmic shifts of New Topographics in order to further refine and develop their sound. The album was recorded in August 2017, again at Greenmount Studios Leeds, but this time with Lee Smith and Jamie Lockhart at the controls, and was released in July 2018 by Holy Roar Records.